Call 0845 241 3406


Opening Times
Essex Branch
London Branch
Monday - Friday: 09:00am - 17:30pm
Monday - Friday: 09:00am - 17:30pm


New rules for travelling to France

 Travel banned between France and the UK except for compelling reasons


France has implemented tighter rules for entering and exiting the country.

All arrivals in France from countries outside the European Area (including the United Kingdom) and all departures from France to those countries will therefore be prohibited, except for compelling reasons ( work, returning to your main residence, study, helping vulnerable people, health etc.), as from Sunday 31 January 2021.

 These restrict travel to essential reasons for French citizens and residents, EU nationals and a few limited exceptions. Please also note that non-EU passport holders (including UK passport holders) arriving into France by train are not permitted to transit through France to make a connection by rail or air to another country)

You are advised to carry a supporting document for returning to France from the UK from the following website:

The new rules are in addition to previously introduced measures. These include the need for a negative PCR coronavirus test (taken no more than 72 hours before travel) and the requirement to self-isolate.

Anyone leaving the UK must present to the transport operator before boarding:

  •         If the person is aged 11 or over, regardless of their nationality, the result of a PCR test performed in the UK less than 72 hours before boarding, which does not conclude that there is COVID-19 contamination.


The forms can be downloaded here


Quarantine in France

Travellers entering France from the UK must isolate for a period of 7 days. They must then take a second PCR COVID-19 test which returns negative.



Anyone leaving French territory must now do so only for compelling reasons (the list of compelling reasons is on the official travel declaration ), regardless of whether he/she is a French national, a national of a member country of the European Area (European Union, Andorra, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Norway, San Marino, Switzerland and Vatican City) or a national of any other State.

Please click here  for the official travel declaration:


Olivia Agboton

Feb 02 2021
Share Tweet